Motion: Extension of the EU Withdrawal Transition Period – Tuesday 2 June 2020

MLAs Matthew O’Toole, Colin McGrath and Sinead McLaughlin introduce a motion that the Assembly notes its unique role in the UK-EU Withdrawal Agreement and the unique impact of Brexit on Northern Ireland along with the ongoing COVID-19 crisis and the extreme challenges facing businesses and workers.

They call for an extension of the current Brexit transition period beyond 31 December 2020 in order to give businesses adequate time to prepare for the implementation of new arrangements.